My Podcast Debut: The Inside the Phoenix Interview

26 Dec
Christmas tree ornament (1978) and Rockefeller Center holiday card (1988) by Joseph Caserto.

Drawing this card in 1988 as a sophomore at Pratt changed my life. Eleven years earlier, as a third grader at Milton Elementary, I made the ornament behind it.

In October, I had the pleasure of being interviewed by Warren Wade Anderson for Inside the Phoenix, a podcast created by him and John Carluccio, who are both fellow Pratt Institute alumni. During this busy but wonderful time of year, I hope you’ll find some time to join us for episode 67, It All Started with a Holiday Card, in which we talk about my career, the role that creativity plays in my life when I’m off the clock, and much more.

Inside the Phoenix Episode 67: Joseph Caserto

The transformative card is above, photographed on my Mom’s tree, next to an ornament that I made in grade school. (If you subscribe to Joe’s News, my monthly email newsletter, you read some of my thoughts on creativity and the holidays in the December 2013 edition.) In my conversation with Warren, I mention my parents, brother, and family, as well as mentors, colleagues, and influences who include Charles Goslin, Robert Newman, and Christoph Niemann.

Listen to our chat for a break from your Christmas week celebrations, or to occupy your time during what’s hopefully a calm work week. Whatever holidays you celebrate, I hope that you and yours are having a happy and safe season.

Leave a Reply

