Pratt Institute Responds to My Letter Against Crowdsourcing

5 Jun

Expressing my disappointment to Pratt Institute for crowdsourcing the design of a new mascot (please see my last post) received a lot of attention, and a response from Helen Matusow-Ayres, Pratt’s Vice President for Student Affairs. To her and Pratt’s credit, it’s unusual that letters like mine get a response, and I thank them for their professional courtesy. Ms. Matusow-Ayers explains that the mascot design is part of a larger identity project, which is being handled by a professional design firm, and I see that those details have been added to the competition information. While this helps Pratt to appear more transparent to the community, it still doesn’t change the fact that the competition sends a dangerous message: Crowdsourcing and speculative work are acceptable business practices. Ms. Matusow-Ayers’s message, and my reply follow. (Click each image to enlarge)

Pratt Mascot Design Competition


Pratt Mascot Design Competition

4 Responses to “Pratt Institute Responds to My Letter Against Crowdsourcing”

  1. ronzisman June 6, 2015 at 9:59 am #

    bravo, joe. your suggestion as to a more appropriate course of action was commendable. you are certainly right about the message it sends to the design community.

    • Stephen June 8, 2015 at 2:16 pm #

      Joseph, I commend your plea for professional equity. I’m also dismayed to see Pratt pursuing this avenue of design acquisition. It really undermines my own view of my professional discipline of graphic design and myself… makes me feel like a lesser designer.

  2. Stephen June 8, 2015 at 2:19 pm #

    Joseph, I commend your plea for professional equity. I’m also dismayed to see Pratt pursuing this avenue of design acquisition. It really undermines my own view of my professional discipline of graphic design and myself… makes me feel like a lesser designer.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tell Pratt To Ban Crowdsourcing and Spec Work | Joe’s Place - November 6, 2015

    […] in crowdsourcing to get a new mascot design for their athletic department identity. Although I received a response to my first letter, my follow up went unanswered. This week, the winning design was announced on […]

Leave a Reply

