Tell Pratt To Ban Crowdsourcing and Spec Work

6 Nov
New branding for Pratt Institute Cannoneers, by alumnus Wayland Chew (B.F.A. Graphic Design ’06).

New branding for Pratt Institute Cannoneers, by alumnus Wayland Chew (B.F.A. Graphic Design ’06).

This spring, I wrote to Pratt Institute, my alma mater, to express my disappointment that they engaged in crowdsourcing to get a new mascot design for their athletic department identity. Although I received a response to my first letter, my follow up went unanswered. This week, the winning design was announced on the Pratt website. The artist, alumnus Wayland Chew (BFA Graphic Design, ’06), was compensated in the form of $1500 and two gala tickets. The other entrants submitted their work, which became the property of Pratt, for no compensation. I maintain my original position: This is a poor lesson for Pratt to be teaching students, contributes to a practice that is damaging to the industry in which they are expected to compete, and to the livelihoods of Pratt alumni.

I want Pratt to join me and other industry professionals in sending a clear message that this practice, which is denounced by AIGA and The Graphic Artists Guild, is unacceptable. Please sign my petition challenging Pratt Institute to formally adopt an official policy prohibiting any art and design work from being crowdsourced and banning spec work, and pledge not to donate to any fundraising campaigns until that happens.

One Response to “Tell Pratt To Ban Crowdsourcing and Spec Work”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Olympic Mistake: Tokyo Crowdsources Logo for 2020 Games | Joe’s Place - November 30, 2015

    […] you follow this blog, you know my opinions on crowdsourcing and speculative work, which I share with AIGA and the Graphic Artists Guild. Candid Thoughts on the […]

Leave a Reply

